Father and Daughter Dinner: A Special Night

Posted: February 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

This Friday night, we will have a dinner for fathers and their daughters.  It is themed as “My Heart belongs to Daddy.”  This event is designed to be a special night for dads and daughters to have a special evening together where Fathers are encouraged to see the vital influence they have on their daughters’ lives.  Dads, you are so important in the eyes of your daughters. Unfortunately, in our society, fathers are portrayed stereotypically either as a buffoon, absent, or neglectful because of work or some other pursuit. However, the Lord never sees it this way.

Dads, you are a display of the very character and nature of our Heavenly Father. You represent Him to your daughters. As a Dad of two boys and a daughter, I know it can be easier to raise boys that I can roughhouse with and challenge to be men. On the other hand, I know that my daughter looks to me for approval as well, but in different ways than my boys. No, I can’t do the rough and tumble like I can with the boys, but there are things that she loves that I need to give attention to. Sure, it is more comfortable to me to throw a football, than to bake a cake. She needs my time, my attention, and my example as a godly man before her eyes for she will draw conclusions about our Heavenly Father based on my relationship with her. Her passion for her Lord and Savior will be caught from me and taught by me. I will have a huge influence on her relationship with our Heavenly Father as well as other relationships. Lord, help me!  Knowing that I represent my Heavenly Father to her, drives me to my knees crying out to my Father to give me grace and help. 

“My son (and daughter), keep your father’s command, and do not forsake the law of your mother. Bind them continually upon your heart; tie them around your neck. When you roam, they will lead you; when you sleep, they will keep you; and when you awake, they will speak with you. For the commandment is a lamp, and the law a light.” (Proverbs 6:20~23)

Read the following article (linked below) by a young lady who has written it from her perspective as a daughter and the impact that her Father had on her. His impact is not just on her convictions and morality, but more importantly on how she views the Heavenly Father and her passionate desire to know Him and glorify Him.  I pray that my daughter will one day be able to write a letter like this one.

http://www.visionforumministries.org/issues/family/my_fathers_daughter.aspx

Leave a Reply

